Archiving a piece of my past

PapaJack

I'm a newbie and have had a couple of posts. I have a Fostex VF16 and am currently in a gospel trio. I have a question that is not specific to recording/mixing something new. For the entire decade of the 80's and up till '91, I was in a Southern Rock/Country bar room band. I lost quite a few brain cells (bar tabs more than what the gig paid) and a lot of my upper range hearing. (loud monitors, small stages). Our group was composed of a Killer lead guitarist, Drummer/vocalist, Bass/Vocalist, Steel Guitar/Vocalist, Rhythm Guitar (me, was not allowed to sing) and two female vocalist (not only good looking but whose harmonies would knock your socks off). A total of seven people which explains why once the $$$ for the gig was split, some of us could not pay our individual bar tabs. Anyway, we never attempted to record in a studio. I recently found a couple of cassettes from a 4 set gig we did in June of '91. I remember using a mid-price-range jam box using its built in mic, sitting up on the stage. It recorded us in mono, picked up mainly the mains but did get some heavy sounds from some of the closer instrument floor monitors. I know there is nothing to mix since there is only one track (two of the same track). My question is, can the vf16 clean this tape up some, maybe give it some type of pseudo-stereo sound. Are there any tricks I might can do to each song and then transfer to CD for posterities sake? I would appreciate any tips. Thanks.

PapaJack said:
Are there any tricks I might can do to each song and then transfer to CD for posterities sake? I would appreciate any tips. Thanks.