Applying a "Master Limiter"

Atom Bomb

Wtf is a PRS
Firstly, I'd like to state that i am very much a less is more kind of guy, mainly out of ignorance but also due to the fact i like to make sure that my input signals are as pristine as they can be to cut down on altering stuff too much when reaching the mixing phase. And, also due to some of the stuff i have heard my friends doing. Applying to many bells and whistles kind of effects to compensate for their shittly recorded input or just becasue they have the fanciest of Plug-ins. I think sometime pulg-ins are looked at as a bandaid or cop out for getting lazy in the set-up.

That said i am a complete newb when it comes to that final mixdown and what things do what. So...

How does one properly apply a master limiter.

I currently have the Kjaerhus Master Limiter. I plopped it into one of my songs the other day and it just made everything more clear? IS this doing anything else other then making it louder? What is it doing? Is it enhancing some of the frequency's that are lagging in the mix or....

typically i don't really add anything onto the master channel for final output other then some compression and EQ. But when i threw this Master Limiter thing on and set the dial to -2.5 -3.0 range it really added some oomph and i had this feeling wash over me like "This kinda makes it sound like i know what i am doing"

Setting it to -12.0 made it sound like a dance remix and it was really gross. Like i could kind of hear everything pretty well, but it sounded.... bad?!

But to my dismay i very often mistake a louder sound for a better sound. Which is not the case as i have been told and pointed out. So before i get to excited i should know what exactly it is that this thing is doing to my song.

Thanks.

What a limiter does is dependant on the particular limiter, but also on the mix.