Anyone messed with DIY mics?

Raymeous

I've been getting into this whole home recording thing and I have admittedly been bitten by the dreaded "Mic Bug" :facepalm:

While scouring the internet for reviews and ideas, I came across the world of mic mods and DIY kits. As a looooong time guitarist, I am quite familiar with hot-rodding your guitar/bass and amps, but modding a mic is a new concept for me. It does make sense but it's a gray area for me. I have to admit that my internal MacGyver is very curious about this process and these mics.

Here are my questions for you ladies and gentlemen:
1) Have you ever used one of these modded or DIY mics?
2) How hard was it to build/mod?
3) The most important question: Do they actually sound good?
4) Was the end result worth the time and effort?

While I'm pretty sure that a DIY Neumann U87 may sound good, I'm not sure how much I buy that it's going to be as good, or even sound like, a real U87. However, if it sounds good, who really cares, right?

So I'm just curious as to what your experiences and thought are on this subject. Thanks for your time, and remember: "Do it for the sake of the singers" :yawn:

I don't have a lot of mic modding experience (I mostly build pedals), but I have opened up an Apex 460 tube mic and a Rode NT1A that had a dead capsule.

For the Apex I just did a few simple mods you can find online (remove a cap, change another, etc.) and it seems to be a little better to my ears.

The Rode, however, is a thing of beauty now, as the capsule was dead so I ordered a K-47 capsule from microphoneparts.com (great guys to deal with). The install was pretty easy, with only a few connections to remove/solder and now it sounds amazing.

p_wats