Anybody heard of the ZIDJIAN MIC PACK?

free_d20

i recently saw a pack of 4 mics used to close mic cymbals. they are kinda wierd cause they are clipped UNDER the cymbals on the stands. this pack also includes a sort of mixer to mix the mics into one stereo output. its around $120, so im wondering whats the catch... if it werent zidjian i would think its crap.

free_d20 said:
i recently saw a pack of 4 mics used to close mic cymbals. they are kinda wierd cause they are clipped UNDER the cymbals on the stands. this pack also includes a sort of mixer to mix the mics into one stereo output. its around $120, so im wondering whats the catch... if it werent zidjian i would think its crap.

If I remember correctly, the zildjian microphone 'system' was produced about 10-15 years ago and never caught on. They were discontinued probably around the early 90's. I have no idea how good they sound....

I have my doubts about a cymbal company producing microphones. Can you test them out before you buy them?

Yeah I remember seeing various ads or pics in Modern Drummer where some guys had those clipped on.

Cymbals start to get really weird when mic'd from the bottom...some have down right eerie or underwater like tones. Good for an effect but thats about it.

Re: Re: Anybody heard of the ZIDJIAN MIC PACK?

pratt said:
If I remember correctly, the zildjian microphone 'system' was produced about 10-15 years ago and never caught on. They were discontinued probably around the early 90's. I have no idea how good they sound....

I have my doubts about a cymbal company producing microphones. Can you test them out before you buy them?

..hey who said anything about buying, $120 aint much, but crap worth $120 is still crap. i had no idea they had been discontinued for SOOOO long! it must be for some reason... i better save for some "trusty" NADY equipment... yeah right.

I recall seeing those (A little black box with a clip and a 1/4 jack) like late 80's early 90's. (It's all a blur now.)