"Analogue" recording

jouannyr

Hello all, I want to get into recording at home, then over the years, expanding into something bigger. I want to start on the good old "analogue" route, and I'd like a rough check-list of what I'll need (I currently have NO GEAR AT ALL - but about $4000 to use). I want to mix/master as well, so I appreciate I'll need a PC for that (?) but that's no problem as I already have a decent PC with the top of the range Creative Labs Sound Card.

Any help would be massively appreciated because I'm a total beginner at this!

Thanks......

Why do you put "Analogue" in "quotes". It makes me wonder what you really "mean". :)

OK, so you have no gear. Well, do you have experience, and in that case, what? Because that determines a lot about what you should get, as does the type of music you want to record.

For analogue recording with your budget, I would recommend you to get a second hand reel-to-reel 8-track, and a nice 16-track mixer (not a Behringer). The 8-track is good if you can inspect before buying, to check for head-wear. Otherwise they are cheap on eBay. You should be able to get away with less that $1000 for those two. Discuss your buys in the Analogue Only forum so you don't buy a dud.

Next step, you need microphones. Preamps are included in the mixer, skip them. What mics and how many depends on what you need to record. Discuss this in the Microphone forum.

Thirdly you need at least one compressor (get an RNC) and you'll need a multi-effect of some sort. A cheap lexicon will do.

All in all, you should be able to have used up only slightly abouve half your budget when you have everything you need. Use the rest of the budget as a backup. You'll need it.