Analog to Digital via PC - What the F***?

Rockenheimer

Someday sooner than later I hope, I'll be done recording The All Time Best Rock Album Ever Made From A Home Studio - of course. I'm recording on analog and I'll want to eventually copy down to CD. I wanna do it on the cheap, cuz I'm a cheap bastard, and the CD burner option on my PC is starting to sound really good.

How the heck am I gonna do that?

Thanks. I know nothing. I'm a worm among giants.

what i do for this, and it is welcome to any kind of critisim because i'm just learning as i go, is to plug my four track into the the "tape 1" inputs of my stereo receiver, so i can hear it through my speakers of course, and then plus the "tape 1" output into the "line in" input on my soundcard. im using just a stock soundcard that came with my computer. then i use a free program which you can download off the net called cd wave editor, which tranfers whatever is playing on my four track and through my stereo into a wav file. then i just burn that file onto a cd.

the problem i have is that i need to keep the line in levels on my computer very low to avoid clipping and unwanted distortion, which means that the cd i end up burning is rather quite and has a bit of noisy "air" in it. but i am starting with a casssete fourtrack and the worlds cheapest mic so a figure i shouldn't expect better. perhaps a good sound card like an Emu 0404 would make it sound better? does anyone have any input on that?

i hope that kind of answered your question rockenheimer... :o

Thanks a lot dude! It sure did! I needed feedback from users such as yourself; cuz meanwhile I found just such another thread, about the same topic. I have to rush out the door right now to go home (send the babysitter home) but I wanna know more dude! I'll try to write back to you / this thread before doomsday (busy busy busy!)

Thanks for your help!