Votes: 13 44.8%
  • No real difference

Votes: 4 13.8%
  • Depends on type of music/situation

Votes: 6 20.7%

• Total voters

ncmail

The Banana Man
I am fairly new to recording. I have been playing in bands for as far back as I can recall. My band did not have the funds to go to a studio to record so about 6 months back I picked up a Tascam portastudio DP-02 I belive, and a few Shure mics. After recording our 3 song demo I discovered I had a new hobby haha. I have since purchaced a few other things (a decent amount of mics and some cheap signal processors ect.) I really enjoy recording (myself and others) and am now wanting to persue this hobby a little harder. I am getting a decent sound with my analog set up I have now.

Is it worth going to a digital set up when I already have an anolog set up I am fairly happy with?

Is there any real advantage of digital over analog?

Why is digital the "perfered" method?

What all would I really need to purchace to do a digital set up? I have an HP labtop with Vista on it.

Please I am intrested in your set up and why you perfer either analog or digital. Pictures never hurt either ;-)

Is it worth going to a digital set up when I already have an analog set up I am fairly happy with?
If you can get all that you desire out of your setup...there's no reason.
But I think you CAN add digital to your existing analog rig and have a hybrid setup for more options.

That's kinda vague...for some things yes but not always. If you like/need to edit...digital blows away analog. However, there's a certain sound quality to analog gear that a lot of folks simply like more than digital. It's a subjective thing.

Why is digital the "preferred" method?
It's not really preferred...it's just more common these days because you can have a fairly robust rig without shelling out thousands and thousands and thousands for the same options/features/flexibility in analog gear.