Ambient Guitar Blues Improv

frank1985

I would appreciate some feedback on this. I'm new to mixing so I imagine it's not perfect, but just want to know if i'm heading in the right direction.

The track was originally 6 minutes long but I cut a bunch out at the start as it wasn't really adding anything.

I use Gilmour's guitar sound for reference, plus a lot of the eno/fripp stuff...Evening Star, No Pussyfooting etc. I was going for an analog feel to the track.

https://soundcloud.com/fc1985/ambient-guitar-improv

Cheers

Frank

it's a little bit dry in my opinion for an ambient track, try longer decay times on the reverb, I did like the reverse guitar on the left though, the guitar on the right feels a bit stuck on, it's like there needs to be more sustain, did you use a real amp or an amp simulation? obviously gilmour uses ridiculously high end amps that have tonnes of sustain that easily feedbacks, it's a big part of his sound. The good thing is that it didn't sound harsh to me, so you did make it sound pretty analog and old school, I would try and improve the guitar panned to the right, either re-record it or work on the sound.

I didn't mind the guitar on the right. That droning sound is overpowering everything else.

it's a little bit dry in my opinion for an ambient track, try longer decay times on the reverb, I did like the reverse guitar on the left though, the guitar on the right feels a bit stuck on, it's like there needs to be more sustain, did you use a real amp or an amp simulation? obviously gilmour uses ridiculously high end amps that have tonnes of sustain that easily feedbacks, it's a big part of his sound. The good thing is that it didn't sound harsh to me, so you did make it sound pretty analog and old school, I would try and improve the guitar panned to the right, either re-record it or work on the sound.