Am I all alone?

Terry Wetzel

Hello all,
I need to ask this question. I have my own basement studio and have been involved in diy home recording since retiring from my day job a few years ago. My set up is, a Mackie 24 track,8 bus analog mixer, an Alesis HD24 hard disk recorder, and an Alesis Masterlink. I also have an older pc equipped with Sound Forge and CD Archetect software. I'm not a Protools user and gave that up a while back. I found it too complicated for my senior citizen grasp of its functions. Now, does anyone out there have a similar set up? I work totally alone. Being a lifelong musician I record all instruments one track at a time,(Guitars, bass, piano, drums(I even do each drum seperately,I.E. snare, bass drum, hi hat,and ride.) this way I can mix each to perfection,(at least to my ear). I also do the vocals, lead and background harmonys. No, I'm not crazy! It works for me. I'd like to trade tips and Ideas with anyone who shares my love of recording ,albeit old school. Also, is anyone aware of miixing automation software programs that might integrate in some way with my set up? I forgot to add that I don't use plug ins but 2 rack mount reverb and delay hardware effects units. I know i'm setting myself up here for some ridicule by geekheads but, be that as it may....Thanks

I work totally alone. Being a lifelong musician I record all instruments one track at a time,(Guitars, bass, piano, drums(I even do each drum seperately,I.E. snare, bass drum, hi hat,and ride.) this way I can mix each to perfection,(at least to my ear). I also do the vocals, lead and background harmonys.

Yeah, I'd say a huge percentage of people on this site do the same thing, myself included. (Except for the seperate drum thing....I play the drums all at the same time.)

Are you all alone? Nah...I'd say you're in the majority. At least around here. Lots of us one man bands.