Alt/Indie Rock Band: Demo recorded ourselves

dubsnack

Hi, I've been playing drums for 3 years and playing recording for 6-10 months. I'm a frequent lurker here. This is my band's first attempt at recording ourselves, it's a DEMO.

Constructive criticism?

Pro Tools w/ digi stock pre's, vox and drum overhead through tubePRE. D112 on kick and floor tom, Beta 98 on rack tom, GT-55 overhead and vox, SM57 on snare and cabs.

Thanks for taking a few minutes of your day to listen, if you do. :)

Great voice on "Anything at All".

The guitars swamp the mix though. You need to make them step back a bit and then have a listen to everything together. The song needs some tweaking of reverb and EQ to make all the instruments gel together a bit more.

And it's great to hear some real drums. Nice. There are some timing problems at the very start that jump out at me. Would be nice to get them sorted. Maybe you need to listen to a click track to get that start in sync.

Then it will be great! I like the song and delivery.

Similar problems on "Long Ways" too. And that isn't as pleasant a song for me :)

But overall, pretty cool.

Thanks for the listen
aspiring

aspiring, thank you very very much for taking the time to give them a listen. I really appreciate the feedback! And I totally agree with everything you about the guitars! It's a slight battle between me (the drummer) and the guitarist. :p A click is going to be a requirement for the next stuff we do, we had some issues with latency that need to be resolved that prevented us from using a click. It's definitely a must-fix.

Eq

Hey,