Alesis Masterlink for live stereo recording?

oboe_prestini

Greetings from Belgium. Has anybody experience with an Alesis Masterlink for live recording? There is a very brief testimony on the Alesis site, but in general little info can be found on the web.
I would like to live record classical chamber music, and am thinking about a simple set up of stereo miking (ORTF) with condensor mics and a Masterlink. Has this machine phantom power? If not, I suppose a mixer is needed, which would come in handy if I ebentually would use more than two mics. Has Alesis good mixer equipment for say 4 or 6 mics?
Many thanks for sharing your advice and experience.

You will need a mic preamp to record like you want to or a mixer as you suggested. I have a masterlink and use it all the time but have never used it for live recordings. Maybe someone else will chime in who has. With that said i've used 2 different models of Alesis mixer and they both had alot of cross talk. I doubt this is something you will want on a classical recording. You might look into the cheaper Soundcraft or newer Yamahas if your budget is tight. Im sure someone can make some better suggestions in the "Other Equipment" forum.

I have used the masterlink for live recording. I produced a CD that way. Here is what you need to know. There are no mic inputs on the masterlink. It just accepts two-channel analog or digital. So your mics need to at least go to a preamp, or better yet, a mixer that will allow you to mix your mics, pan them, and send out a two channel signal. If your mics need phantom power, they will need to get it from the mixer or from separate phantom power boxes. The masterlink provides no phantom power. The masterlink is a great tool in my opinion.

Al

Live on masterlink

I've recorded live on the masterlink coming through my Mackie 1202. Sounds good to me. Of course, you've got to get the mix right going in, but maybe thats better than fussing with it after.