Akai mpk61 vs max49

blkarmphoenix

Hello everybody! tried to post last night but apparently it didn't work :(. I have been lurking here for the last few weeks as I begin the adventure of building my home recording studio. I have been a musician for a long time, but just recently began getting into recording/production. I run an audiobox usb interface, with Presonus Studio One Professional (loving Studio One btw!). I play mostly acoustic pop/light rock, with my own vocals, backup instruments, and programming my own drums/synths. Part of the reason I wanted to start recording at home was to be able to be somewhat of a "One man band" and be able to have complete control over my projects from start to finish. Another reason is because I feel the urge to dabble in dubstep/electronic music production.

Next up on my verrrrry long list of things to purchase is a good midi controller. I think I have it pretty well narrowed down to either the Akai mpk61, or the Akai max49. I just have no experience in music production or using a midi controller, so I need some input on the pros and cons of each.