Advice please on timbre in the mid range..

kickingtone

I've recently completed the absolute basics and have started to look at timbre. (Took 3 years as i have no musical background.)

My mid range sounds very plain, at best. I have some really short clips of my entire range, and i would like comments on all of them and suggestions on what I may be able to incorporate into my mid range to make it sound better.

Things like, "more air", "more brightness", "more edge", "more squillo", "more/less weight" etc. would be very helpful. :)

Up at A4, I think I have something to build on, but please comment.

https://soundcloud.com/kickingtone/hnir002lv

Down at, G2, again I think I have something to build on. Comments welcome.

https://soundcloud.com/kickingtone/iitetf013lv

As I start approaching the mid range, the problem starts to show..

https://soundcloud.com/kickingtone/sosb002lv

And her is the problem in all its glory..What I want is a basic change make this something I can then build on.

https://soundcloud.com/kickingtone/sosb003lv

I think that I am ok in falsetto, in that range..

https://soundcloud.com/kickingtone/botw004lv

Thanks in advance.

Good job starting from scratch and keeping at it for three years already! I'm curious what the absolute basics are that you've been working on. Are you doing any exercises for proper breath support? I hear some wavering and pitchiness that usually comes from not moving air well.

Good job starting from scratch and keeping at it for three years already! I'm curious what the absolute basics are that you've been working on. Are you doing any exercises for proper breath support? I hear some wavering and pitchiness that usually comes from not moving air well.

uhm... pitch control and breath support! lol!

I came across the appoggio technique about a year ago, and borrowed from that. It took my range from around E4 up to B4.