ADAT HD24 question...

kragbax

Well I'm not really a novice to recording, but my roots are in the old analog reel to reel trenches. I picked up a Tascam 2488 to get my feet wet in the digital realm and because I wanted 24 tracks. However, I haven't used it at all yet, namely because I'm still building my studio space. Anyhow, while I whittle away at my room, I start thinking about recording digital. I considered computer based... but because I work on PC's 8+ hours a day, I really don't want anything more to do with them on my off hours :) I've been checking out the 24 track HD recorders and if I went that route it's come down to the Alesis ADAT HD24 and the Mackie SDR2496. Namely because of price. I really like the look of the Mackie HDR2496, but I can't float that price.
So, two stupid questions. One is a rehash I'm sure but I figured any more opinions can only help me and others with this dilema... Most online retailers have the Mackie SDR at around $1299 new, and most offer Factory Resealed Alesis ADAT HD24's for the same price (new are closer to $1500). As mentioned, I (think I) love the Mackie HDR2496, but the B-stock price is $2000... way to high for my current budget - considering I'd still need to get a mixer. Any thoughts on the unit itself. Either one have a big advantage or setback compared to the other?
Secondly, suppose I go this route, getting rid of the 2488. Say I pick up the HD24 unit and a decent mixer (I've read a few digital ones are nice). I've got outboard Pre's, effects, compression, etc. What options would i have after recording a bunch of tracks to burn a CD? Would I feed Mixer outs to (eventually to) a Burner? Or should the raw tracks be imported to a PC 'mastering' tool for mixdown and buring on the PC? If the PC, what software is typically used (opinions) and would the PC require special hardware as well?