acoustic guitar sounds out of place in the mix

mojovoodoo

the acoustic guitars i tracked(which i thought i did a standard job)are coming across being hit too hard,which normally isn't a problem. but these songs are slow ballads.i mean normally i would just redo the guitars ,but this is just how i play the guitar.i used an akg c2000.so i am wondering,am i using the compression wrong in the mix?it's not a matter of turning the guitar down,i need to be able to hear the soft parts at the same volume as the loud parts ,yet not so obviously compressed,i am new to digital recording,i am using protools,and i have all these plugin compressors,limiters,channel strip,yet it is so visually overwhelming,as some of these compressors have so many dials and graphs and so forth.does anyone have any suggestions?maybe it's not compression i need?anything,please?

Any way to post a clip? It'd be easier to make a guess if we could hear the problem.

A (not really) silly suggeston

Well, why not try it *without* the guitars. :-) If you can't make them fit in the mix, try using something else do do the same job as the guitars, or just skip them altogether.

That's what I do if something doesn't work out. :) It's usually easier to do something totally different that fixing the problem with what you tried to do in the first place, and it often results in more interesting results. :)

What kind of playing is the acoustic part? Strumming? Picking? Leads? All of the above?

I like to use very thin picks for strumming parts if I don't want the acoustic to be the featured instrument. That way you get more of percusive sound and the acoustic's shimmer than the body of the guitar. Plus, there isn't as drastic a volume change when strumming real hard and strumming normal.