Accoustic Amps

ridgeback

My wife plays a 70's Gibson Hummingbird (was mine :confused: ) which is equipped with Martin Gold Series P/U under the bridge. She's a relatively new guitar player and recently started singing and playing in my band. For rehearsals she's been playing through my old Yamaha G112 which she hates and rightfully so. It sounds like crap. She's thinking she needs an accoustic amp and she might be right but I have no experience with them. Any recomendations or thoughts on this?

Personally I've sort of run into a brick wall on the amplified acoustic electric thing. On one hand you have this famous pizieo 'clack sound that, from what I've found may never go away regardless.
I've tried the Korg AX10A simulator pedal which get the trappings of various mic'd acoustics just fine and is a step in the right direction -but the clack remains. (There is a ('Mama Bear'?) not sure of the name) that looks promising.)
As for the amp end, IMHO, the main issues are at the source not there. I'd say any fairly smooth system that you can tailor and shape the tone to your preference is good to go -way better than say a rough sounding guitar amp.

I haven't tried but a few of the 'acoustic' amps, but so far I'm not to keen on the piezo tweeters many seem to use.(again, not what you might call a smooth solution.)
There's a Rolland with two six or eight inchers' that's the sweetest I've played through, maybe not real loud though.
Hope that helps.
Wayne

I've consistently had my best luck with SWR California Blonde. Surprisingly (maybe it shouldn't surprise me), a small PA can work really well. I use a Fender Passport PD250, and for small solo gigs I use it as a PA also. I expect a PD150 would work fine as well. As a 150 watt PA, it's pretty weak, but if you see it as a 150 watt acoustic guitar amp, it has more than enough balls for the job.-Richie