About to Buy this setup

jonathangeiger

Im on a 2.7 ghz p4. 512 ram 80 gig HD. With WIndows XP.

I'm planning on buying an Audiophile 2496 as a soundcard and a M-Audio DMP3 for a preamp.

How does this look to you guys? Is everything going to work/hook up right? Are there any better deals or anything I should buy instead?

BTW ill be using an SM57 and 58 for recording.

My budget right now is about $450-500.

new setup

Jon,

I'm a newbie as well, and recently purchase my own setup -- I looked at a lot of the same things you are now. I like your preamp and card selections. As for the mic, have you considered getting a large condensor mic for your second mic, such as a Studio Projects B1 (~$70?)? The mic is one of the most important pieces of equipment you use -- what you want completely depends on the instruments/style you record. Condensors are better for vocals in general. For info on mics, this site is great:
www.hr-faq.org
It's a compilation mic-related information posted on this message board, and makes mic purchase recommendations based on budget and use.

FYI, my setup: M-Audio Delta 1010LT sound card (preamps included), SM57 mic, Sonar multitrack software), Reason (audio generation software). I'm probably going to purchase a large condensor mic in the $200 range soon...

Good luck!

I just need something to get me going right now, Im really getting sick of my sound card/ computer mic, I think I've more than maxed out its capabilities. Im really not planning to do much with vocals as I cant sing, but I will probably end up getting some more mics in the future.

Thanks for the input.

The DMP3 ($149) and the Audiophile ($139) are exellent. IMO you will have to spend three to four times as much money to get better quality preamps and AD/DA conversion.

The prices quoted came from digitalproaudio.com