Aark Direct Pro

MM2

I'm frustrated that I haven't seen any reviews for this product, since I'm very interested in mixer-less solutions for PC recording. Is anyone using this? and if so, would you mind giving a short, objective review (ie, more detail than "I have it and I love it.") Are the preamps really that great? How is the compressor and EQ? Any problems installing? Sound quality overall and ease of use?

Thanks a lot in advance.

I have been using the Direct Pro for about 3 or 4 months now. The typical comment I get from people who hear my work are "Wow...it's so clear!" I am currently working on an acoustic rock project with MIDI drums and bass.

It works great! I do not use the EQ, Reverb, or Compressor on the DSP chip. I don't like the quality or lack of quality on those.

About the only trouble I've had is the occasional loss of playback...20% of the time I use it. A reboot fixes the problem. Has something to do with the PCI interface and maintaining a high quality, consistent connection. That's all I know!

You won't go wrong with this purchase. I am glad I don't have a mixer taking up desk space!

I'm thinking of getting a Direct Pro as we speak. One thing I'm confused about is whether I will also need additional software or whether the stuff that comes bundled with it will be sufficient. What do you think?

My past experience with stuff bundled with anything is that it is never sufficient. But that also depends on what you want to do. It has directX so you'll be able to run tons of plugins. If you search on the internet you might find other programs you like better.

I read a review , and one thing that stuck out was that it was being compared to a dat machine, where it's quality was a little bit better than the dat's.

Now, they compared a delta 1010 to the same dat machine, in a different article and it was like there was no comparison at all.

I firmly believe that there are many better cards out there in the same price range.