Aaarrrgh...noise, pleazzzz HELP!

gambetta

I'm a newbie when it comes to computer recording. I've been playing around on my E4K board for a couple of years, but now I want to record and mp3 some of my songs. I used the main L/R 8 mm outputs on the board, used two 8 mm to RCA adapters, and finally put these in an audio adapter which fits in the mic input on my labtop (Inspiron 4000). I just acquired Cool Edit Pro, and noticed that upon recording base-line noise was terrible (like an old computer game that goes awfully wrong) :((((. Played around with input levels, main volumes etc. but no progress. I noticed that the noise may be generated by the 2 8mm to RCA adapters, but I'm not sure. Why does nobody else seem to suffer from headaching background noise that even doesn't appear when I use maximum noise reduction on Cool Edit, is there an easier way or what am I doing wrong?

I noticed that my E4k also has a S/PDIF I/O!! I have however no clue of how to use that, or how to get that signal in my computer??? Would that be a valuable alternative!?

Pleazz, give me some baseliners here, I know you guys can do it!

Tx!!!

I don't know what an E4K is. (did a quick search, is it a keyboard?)

But, there are a few things that could be contributing to your noise problem.

1. Your connecting to the mic-in on your soundcard. Never a good idea for line level sources.

2a. Your soundcard is more than likely a POS with its own inherent noise problems. Noise floor around -30dB or so if it's real POS.

2b. The E4K may be a noisy keyboard (if it is one) and contributing it's share of noise along with 2a.

3. All those adapters can cause problems, but not usually hiss. Just aggravation by not working or working intermittently.

SP/DIF would be groovy if your soundcard also has this capability, otherwise not.

Solution?

1. Try the line in, not mic in and see if that gives you acceptable results.