A short song as a tester

Spazhands

'ere mate
I am fairly new to this and have recorded a track for you guys to cast your ears over. Keep in mind I am not a guitarist but a drummer, so that will explain the poor guitar! I am using a Korg 168c soundlink digital desk running via 8 channel ADAT into an Emu 1212m and Ableton 8, then mixed in FL Studio. The kit has a mic for kick, snare, floor tom, one for both rack toms and two overheads. The guitar was through a line-6 pod and the bass is the guitar clean, then pitched down ;). Please let me know what you think as I aim to record our band very soon!! Ben
http://www.soundclick.com/bedroommassacre

Last edited:
Howdy spaz...uh, sorry...ben :).

My thoughts on this for what they're worth.

Guitar sounded pretty good, especially for a non-guitarist. Guess it isn't too hard for a drummer to pick up :).

The drums...cymbals sounded pretty cool, but the drums themselves seem muffled and dull to me. The snare in particular is lacking in the snap/crack sort of sound. I know there are tons of different snare sounds and I myself have never tracked or mixed real drums, but that is what I'm hearing as a listener anyway. The drums seem like they need to brighter and clearer especially in relation to that guitar sound.

The bass is pretty non-existent for me. I tried for years to use a guitar-as-bass with varying levels of failure. Just a cheap $100-$200 used bass recorded DI will work a gazillion times better than a guitar for this imo. I can't recommend it enough.

Fun little tune. Maybe others will tell you differently on the drums...

I agree with the Heat man about the drums. Good drumming, though. :cool: