A question about electro-acoustic guitars (acoustics with pickups or mics inside them

memo

Hello,

I've been playing guitar for around 4 years now and I want to get an electro-acoustic guitar now. (I don't know if it's the right word, but I want an acoustic guitar a pickup or mic inside it)

I have a pretty decent 2-3 year old Martin acoustic which is in mint condition, and I also have $200 which I have collected. I want to trade my acoustic+money and get an electro-acoustic guitar. Do any of you have any suggestions about brands or models I should look into?

The only thing I want from the electro-acoustic I want to get (apart from the good/decent sound) is a thin and rather small body. The Martin I have has a huge "ass" (as I call it), that when I play it my arm barely makes it to the strings because of the huge body of the guitar (and no, I'm not a small person). I've played some Yamaha electro-acoustics, both nylon and steel stringed ones (I prefer steel) and they felt quite comfortable. Also, I've heard great things about Takamine guitars, but I don't know if they are in my budget (I'd say I have a max budget of $400 including my old acoustic)

So, anyone?

Thanks!

???????

There's something I don't understand... If you have a Martin guitar in mint condition, then that alone has got to be worth more than $400. Which Martin do you have?

For $200 you can have a pickup installed in the Martin (the kind that goes under the bridge). Martin even sells them (they're made by Fishman). This electronic will be similar to what you'll get in the Yamaha or Takamine, and you'll have a better guitar.

The thin body acoustic-electrics don't produce the same resonance, so it will always sound relatively weak when you're NOT plugged in. Unless you expect to play out a lot, it really doesn't make much sense. So get used to the wide body!