A plan and understanding...

mmonline

I rediscovered this forum yesterday - after signing up last year. See question on Newbies about clicks and pops.. ;)

I've been writing songs for years - put off pursuing it while consulting, having kids, etc. A couple years ago my oldest kids kept urging me to get my music "out there."

Last year I started playing out a little - writing a lot more - and starting to record at home. I ended up getting hired at a few places - playing originals and "covers so obscure you'll think their originals" - which was great.

I work out of my house as a consultant (technology, business, marketing) and as a writer. I have one book (with a contract for another), many many articles, write corporate pieces/collateral, etc.).

This December I sat down and thought about my goals - music, writing, etc. I identified 9 deliverable/achievables. I then looked at the time needed to achieve my goals and I excluded all but 3 items.

1) Mailing List;
2) Venues (direct contact);
3) Merchandise;

My list of deliverables is now up to 12 but all are excluded while I pursue the three items above.

I actively build my mailing list and put out 2 full newsletter's each month and then performance updates prior to playing.

I contact several venues each week - specifically targeting listening rooms, wine bars, coffeehouses, etc. - with the goal of paid gigs and opportunity for listenership. When it comes to original music, being background noise at a restaurant/bar is difficult - people want tunes they know and while I can make money doing that - it does not work to my goal so I don't.

I also have as a goal getting people to my website - myspace is largely irrelevant and noisy. I have a profile but even there the goal is to push people to my site, not to get a bunch of "friends".