A general but important issue.

NationalSandwic

Hello everyone

I've not been on this forum in ages and ages, but I've always found it useful and informative. I am not an audiophile or technophile; I am a composer, performer and producer, ie I am concerned with musical content, not audio content. When I was frequenting this BBS last I was something of a curious amateur, but now I find myself in a position where I am setting up my own serious project studio (for work, not as a hobby.)

I already have software and hardware and a mixing desk that I feel comfortable with, so the last step is mics and monitors.The problem I am having is that despite my (admittedly somewhat-limited) knowledge of studio gear and techniques, I'm finding myself in a complete whirlwind of indecision regarding selecting microphones and monitors. I've been reading reviews all over the place, talking to pro studio owners I know, reading publications on microphone technology, looking at frequency response graphs, cataloguing specs and prices and none of it seems to bring any clarity to the buying process. My only real guide is my budget, which is around $2000.

It's hardly a huge budget, but I should think it will get me to a place where I can begin working. To give you an impression, the mics I am looking at are things like Rode NT2000's, and monitors like the Samson Resolv 80a's (though, I don't really like those). As a start, I'm thinking of getting a couple of large diaphragm condensers, and a couple of small diaphragm.

Everything looks so similar, it seems impossible to make a decision which route to go. Of course, I want to get the best possible gear within my budget range. Is it worth going through all the stress and angst to make a choice? Are the units in this price range really THAT different? I don't have the opportunity to test mics and monitors before buying them - it's not done in South African - and I feel a bit like I'm choosing by pulling names out of a hat.