A/d Converters

Claude G

Harvey and all: THIS IS A SIMPLE, GOOD FAITH QUESTION I POSTED IN ANOTHER FORUM - GOT NO REPLY FROM ANYONE...I GUESS ITS TOO STUPID A QUESTION??? YOU WOULD THINK THAT COMMON COURTESY WOULD DICTATE SOME KIND OF REPLY...???

IF SOMEONE HERE COULD GUIDE ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION I WILL DISSASOCIATE MYSELF FROM THE "OTHER FORUM" AS THEN I WILL KNOW THAT THEY ARE NOT THERE TO HELP....

Hi Lynn and all: Question: I mix down from a Soundcraft M series console w/digital out to an Alesis Masterlink (digital in)- would I see any improvement in the final mix on the Masterlink if I patch a good A/D converter between the console and the Masterlink? How good (expensive) a converter would I need to improve on the console's digital out?

I've no experience with the Masterlink's converters but if they're anything like the HD24's, they're pretty damn good. If you want an improvement over that, an Apogee Rosetta for around $1000 or so would be something to consider. The Lucid stuff is real nice too.

Claude G said:
Harvey and all: THIS IS A SIMPLE, GOOD FAITH QUESTION I POSTED IN ANOTHER FORUM - GOT NO REPLY FROM ANYONE...I GUESS ITS TOO STUPID A QUESTION??? YOU WOULD THINK THAT COMMON COURTESY WOULD DICTATE SOME KIND OF REPLY...???

IF SOMEONE HERE COULD GUIDE ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION I WILL DISSASOCIATE MYSELF FROM THE "OTHER FORUM" AS THEN I WILL KNOW THAT THEY ARE NOT THERE TO HELP....

Hi Lynn and all: Question: I mix down from a Soundcraft M series console w/digital out to an Alesis Masterlink (digital in)- would I see any improvement in the final mix on the Masterlink if I patch a good A/D converter between the console and the Masterlink? How good (expensive) a converter would I need to improve on the console's digital out?