A common question: What do I want to buy? (complete newbie)

thirdrate

Hi, novice here, and I want to get started, from scratch..

I want to buy a mixer/multitrack, mics, stands, cables, guitar effects, etc. I think I've decided on the mic: Shure SM57, and for the guitar a Line 6 Recording POD.

However, I have no idea about the mixer/multitrack..

I am pretty sure I want to use my computer to record, so I should get a mixer? If I get a mixer, and wanted to record two or more things at the same time, they would all get clumped together into one track within the software, correct? (since sound card has only one input) This would not be the case with a multitrack, right?

I plan to primarily record here, at home. But I would like to be prepared if I go over to my friends house,
and I've been looking at the Tascam MKIII 424, but I can't see myself fumbling around with casettes.

But, it would be better than nothing, and cheaper than a expensive hard disk recorder. On the other hand, if I get the MKIII, I will primarily using it as a mixer, and I hear it is not as good -- especially the mic preamps, compared to, say -- a Mackie mixer. If that's true, then with the multitrack, I gain versatility, but compromise quality.

So, as a complete beginner, do I want a plain mixer, a casette multitrack, some-other-type-of-media multitrack, a hard disk multitrack, etc.

I don't really have high standards yet, I will probably be happy with any of these.

And please, manufacturer and model reccomendations would be helpful. Online, I've looked at mixers by Behringer, Mackie, and hard disk multitracks by Fostex.

Thanks,

$700? Hmmmm.....Well for starters,if you plan on recording
to your pc and require 4 or more tracks,check out the various multi-track recording software.Many have trial downloads you can check out.
Visit http://www.cooledit.com or http://www.cakewalk.com to name a few.