388 very quiet during stereo playback

rob388

Hello my very first post!

I've just acquired a Tascam 388 with an issue maybe you could all help with.

When I go to listen to something I've just recorded I get good volume with the aux and eff buttons pressed in, but with the stereo button pressed I have to turn everything right up to get a barely audible signal.

Apologies if this sounds a little vague, I'm brand new to analogue and to be honest would like to learn as much as possible.

The only thing I've checked so far are the fuses and they're all good.

Very very happy to have stumbled upon the 388 here in the UK as there's not many about ?

Thanks all, hope you can help.

I don't know this machine, but looking at pictures of it, my guess would be that you haven't assigned any channels to the stereo bus.
See if you can find a scan of the manual, the mixer seems to work a bit differently to anything I've used before.

As far I know I have to press the L R button in the assign section of the track to get the track to come through the stereo bus. I've done this and with L R engaged I get a barely audible sound and without it engaged there's nothing.

Yes I do have the manual I'm gonna take a read now.

Thanks guys.

I'm using headphones, this was leading up to my next question about the correct leads to connect my Yamaha monitors with 1/4 inch jack inputs.

Any advice on this if possible would be great.

For my monitors I'm using a rca to 1/4" ts cable. RCA monitor out of the 388 to the 1/4" inputs of my monitors.
Are your monitors powered?

So with a source connected to an input channel, and with the trim knob and fader set to a nominal level, and the L-R assign button latched (in the down position), you can't hear anything in the headphones with STEREO as the source over in the monitor section?

Thanks for the info regarding the monitor cables, I'll order some this weekend.