250 dollar budget, decent guitar to learn on

pedro_sandchez

I've been playing bass for six years now and am just getting into the home recording scene.
Recording bass lines, and laying down drum tracks has given me the urge to do some guitar lines as well.
Problem is, I know very little on the guitar and I dont own one to learn on.

so I've figured out I can spend around 250 dollars on a new guitar.
any ideas on what would be a good beginner guitar that will sound decent for recording, be easy to play/learn on, and not have to be replaced in the near future.

*forgot to mention. I'm looking for an electric

thanks guys
pedro

For $250 or less, look into Ibanez, they make several in that price range which are decent and easy to play. The easy to play part makes them especialy good for a beginner. Washburn also has several models in the same price range. Then there is Squire which isn't a bad guitar either and dont forget to look at an Epiphone or two (avoid the real cheapo Epis though) and there are several other less known brands who make fairly decent entry level guitars which might suit you better. All things considered though, I have to say check out the Ibanez (ax series if you like a sg style, rg series if you are more into strat style guitars) for both quality and ease of playing.

I'll second the Ibanez choice.Really good guitars for the money.
I just bought an Ibanez Jet King that was closeout priced at Musicians Friend for $199.I didn't need another guitar,but at that price...

Ibanez or I would look for a used Fender or high end epiphone, those guitars can sell for really cheap used. Even check out Godin guitars those things are amazing, the low end models sound just as good as the mid range fenders and gibsons.

I second the used fender choice. You can pick up a used "made in mexico" strat for between $200 and $250 in most any music store (I went by guitar center last week and they had a very nice one for $225)