Nico2112

Hi guys. I finally got the money I need to upgrade from my DP-01 to a 2488:D:D
The downside's are:
1) to get full warranty and coverage I have to order it from my local Tascam dealer; and that my friends is going to cost me $1400
2) Their Latin American Tascam supplier only has the standard 2488, not the new 2488 MKII yet.

Since I'm a drummer, and the main feature I'm looking for is to be able to record 8 tracks simultaneously, the 2488 does the job perfectly for me. I know the price is insane, but so are all the prices you pay for music gear around here:(

I'll wait 1 month for the recorder to arrive; in the meantime, I would like to get busy reading the manual...BUT, I haven't been able to find the old 2488 manual online, I can only find the new 2488MKII manual.

If any of you guys have the standard 2488 manual in pdf format, could you be so kind to link me to it, or send it to me via e-mail?

Any help would be greatly appreciated:)

Cheers!

Thanks a lot mate, downloading and saving it right now:D

Cheers!

So what are your opinions on the two units?

So what are your opinions on the two units?

I really the 2488. I work with mainly real instruments these days (occasional drum machine aside) and I think it suits this well. 24 tracks is plenty enough for me and 8 inputs is just about enough to capture a complete band live. I've had various Tascams over the years (Porta 03, 414, 788) and I've always found them reliable and reasonably intuitive to use. My only real criticism is the multi-FX is a bit crap but with two external sends plus the internal FX loop I don't really need it (and anyway the the extra 4 insert compressors is much more useful).

As for the MKII, well they haven't really added anything extra that would make me upgrade. Even the larger hard drive isn't that bigger deal since as long as you remember to do a bit of housekeeping 40GB is plenty (the 788 had only 8GB and I never filled that)

Thanks for your comments.

That's what I thought.