24/96 in Vegas Pro

jrich

Hi all,

I've been surfing this BBS for about 6 months now, but I've finally got a question that I can't exactly find an answer to.

I'm using Vegas Pro right now for tracking and it says it supports 24/96. But when I go to the Properties dialog and to Audio, the highest choice I can choose is 16/44.1. I am using an Aardvark Q10 so I have the ability to go 24/48.

Also, when I saved previous Cool Edit files to 24/48 and tried to open them in Vegas, I would just get a noise.

Can anybody help me with this?

Also while I'm here, when I'm mixing and using plugins the playback skips, pops, and plays out of sync after about 8 tracks and 12? plugins. I figure it is simply because I have a slower processor (350 Mhz PII) but the CPU usage meter never jumps above about 6% and the RAM usage only shows about 25/416. Could these simply be reading wrong, or is it a problem with the program/setup?

Sorry for the long post, but I figured I might as well put both questions in the same post. Thanks!

Thanks for the help.

I'm at a mac now and the pdf downloads from sonicfoundry's website won't work so I can't look at the manual right now, and I couldn't find any helpful information on the website.

I've gotten the opportunity through different friends to try out different programs before I decide which I would like to buy, and so far I prefer Vegas, but not having 24 bit was bothering me. I could have sworn the manual said it had the ability.

Is Vegas Pro an earlier release than Vegas Audio 2.0?