2 soundcards...only 1 will record in Sonar

jrich

2 soundcards(q10)...only 1 will record in Sonar

Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to Sonar so I don't know if this is a Sonar problem or a problem with my audio card. I use an Aardvark q10 to record, and have just put a second one in my system. I finally got it working so I can mix stuff I've already recorded with no problem. I have also checked every input on the new interface and I can hear myself fine through all inputs.

For some reason though, I can't record anything off of the new soundcard. It shows up as an option to record from in Sonar (it shows Q10 1 right 1,2...Q10 1 left 1,2 etc. and q10 2 right 1,2 etc.), but the meters never register anything, and nothing will record from it. Everything records fine from my original card. I don't know what I've done wrong, because I'm having the same problem in Vegas (but I don't really use that anymore) It seems it might be a soundcard problem since its happening in both programs, but the inputs are showing up and the q10 mixer software registers the sounds and plays through my speakers with no problem. Anyone have any input??

thanks,
josh

I forgot to mentions I'm running Sonar 2.?? but have the upgrade to 3 that just hasn't been installed yet.

Last edited:
What driver mode - ASIO or A|WDM?
Does the other mode make any difference?
What driver version are you running for the Q10?
What operating system?
Are there any driver settings or dip switches on the sound cards that need changing to correctly operate the second card?

I do not have Q10, just the 24/96 baby brother - and only one of them, but there are people about online that I know of who are working correctly with this configuration.

Ciao,

Q.

I knew there was some info I was forgetting.