16 Channel Interface with no preamps?

Jeff_D

So, right now, I have 2 Delta 1010lt cards in my computer. They work but, they're cheap and old and I think I'm ready for something better- I've been using these for about 8 years now. I have decent monitors and I think I have the acoustics of my room fairly well sorted out. I'd love to just pick up a MOTU 24IO and be done with it, but I'd also love to not spend $1500 :laughings::o. I wish MOTU made a "16IO" :rolleyes::laughings:

Along with the 2 1010lt's, I have a Soundraft M8 mixer which has 1/4" analog direct outs on each of 8 channels. I really like this board and it also serves as the mixer for the PA in our practice space. So, the Soundcraft feeds 8 channels and I have a PreSonus D8 that feeds the other 8. The D8 has 1/4" analog outputs and ADAT out but only 48kHz. I'm not really married to the D8, but I have it and its ok.

The majority of stuff out there now seems to have preamps built in, but frankly I doubt the pres in like a MOTU 8Pre or a FireStudio will be better than my Soundcraft board. I'm also hesitant to use the ADAT on the D8 since its only 48kHz.

So.... any thoughts? :) Should I try to commission the first 16IO from MOTU? :D

I am in a similar place - high end mics and mic pre with a Delta 1010LT card - Mercedes with a Kia engine...

I've looked at stuff like this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Apogee-DA-16X-2...tem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aa2e6bb92

I have a hard time getting excited about upgrading at this time. I'm sure I'd be able to enjoy an RME unit, but when you make an mp3 at the end and give it away for free on the internet will it make any difference? That combined with what I think is going to happen in this next few years (technological mayhem) makes me want to keep using the Delta and concentrate on playing live. But like you, I'm looking and don't need so many channels, 8 is fine.