1/2" Quantegy Inverted (Brown Oxide out)

LUNE

...a pieds joints
I got this 10" reel of (perhaps...) Quantegy 499 with my Tascam 38 from someone who knew nothing about either (he inherited it all from his dad).

Quantegy 499 inverted.jpg

By what process, reason or mistake would the tape have ended up shiny-brown-oxide-out on the reel? Is there an easy way for me to tell if its really 499? and perhaps most importantly, whats the best way for me to get it right way 'round to make it usable?

The machine also came with 2 empty reels (the original Tascam takeup reel and an empty 456) as well as a sealed 456 tape.

I'm still relatively new to tape, and I can't think of any reason or easy way it got like that. Any one have any ideas what happened here?

That is weird. There were some very early machines which had the heads the other way up, but AFAIK none of them used 1/2" tape. I suspect they were transferring the tape from a hub or another reel or something and buggered it up.

Oh yeah, it can happen if the tape got twisted over in the transfer. That's not particularly easy to do, but I have done it before now :p

I think 499 is very slightly darker, but it's difficult to tell. Best way is to record on a stretch of it and see what happens to the signal level on a machine calibrated for 456. IIRC it comes up a couple of DB higher on playback than on recording.

On another note, this is how I would handle the reversing.

I'm including two diagrams, based off the TASCAM TSR-8 layout. Unless you've got an MTR-90 or similar machine this ought to work.

'Normal' is how the machine is normally threaded.

'Inverse' is what you'd do if you wanted to flip the tape over. BE CAREFUL WHEN DOING THIS.