How would you pan a drummer in the mix that has both high hats and the ride on the same side?

ZANDER1994

Hi all, I have been recording music for about 15 years now, but primarily as a piano player and singer. I’ve finally decided to learn another instrument and I bought an acoustic kit a couple weeks ago.

As it turns out, after 20+ years of piano (and being cross dominent in both hands and feet), playing open handed with my hats and ride on the left is what feels most comfortable. My drummer friends think it’s fantastic and have told me not to change, but I am worried if I record like this, my mixes won’t have that cool stereo effect when the drummer usually switches from hats on the left to playing the ride on the right.

Below is a video of me practicing. I’ll note I had some pads I bought and low volume cymbals on. This isn’t out of fear of disturbing people really (my recording studio is in a detached building on my own property), but moreso to help protect my own ears and completely remove the anxiety of my neighbors faintly hearing me practice the same part 100x while they are outside on their patio. Again, I’ve only been at it for a couple weeks so I am aware my playing is not super tight.

When I do get better and start recording, how should I pan myself in the mix?

Well, it’s totally up to you. You could just experiment if it’s important to you but as a recordist I have always tried to record what a drummer gives me and being very honest the placement of cymbals always spills everywhere anyway. If you like hat and ride together then that’s fine. You presumably have an alternate cymbal or two the other side? I’ve know drummers who have two rides and I hear the tone difference but unless they’re alternating the image shift is minimal anyway as my drums are never wildly panned anyway so always limited in movement unless it’s for effect. If you like it, do it.