Recording karaoke - where to get tracks

Hi, sorry if this question is not what the forum was designed for however I was hoping someone could help.

I have a small home based recording studio with a booth. Ive recorded a few ppl but mostly used it for my own recordings. As I'm a drummer I feel the booth is getting underused and almost abused when I go in to sing. I've seen many other studios offering star for the day type packages where anyone can come along and record their favourite track and get a recording and was hoping to offer the same thing (once the whole lock down thing is don't with) . .

My question is about where can I get backing tracks to popular songs. I've contacted karaoke version and asked them about this and they advised I would have to pay them 25 bucks per song to include recording copywrite . Is there anywhere else that people who offer the same service use to get karaoke or backing tracks and what would the cost be. It's a small set up but with these tracks not being the originals having ppl change there mind about the tracks could end up being costly if they are unhappy with the backing track and I guess I'd need an up front deposit before booking to make sure the cost of the track is covered.

Any advice about offering this service would be much appreciated

You can buy karaoke tracks on CD. (So it would be something like $15 for a dozen or so songs)

You should definitely do some research on what your licensing requirements will actually be. If you're recording friends for fun for free, you shouldn't need to pay a license fee.* But this sounds like a commercial application you're working on (even if it's a limited one)

* Copyright prevents you from publicly performing or distributing someone's song without license, but I don't believe there are limits on recreating it for private use.

You can buy karaoke tracks on CD. (So it would be something like $15 for a dozen or so songs)