Is my 57 broken?

MDMStudio

This is my first time posting on here, excited to join the community!

So, my SM57 has been sounding fine for vocals but I've never really played around much with it as far as recording acoustic guitar. I've always ran it through my m-audio mobile pre (an earlier version of the one that's out now). Anyways, long story short I tried micing it in both the 12th fret and bridge positions and I'm just getting an awful tone from it, almost like it's being recorded from a laptop mic. Here's a clip of my test recording, anyone have any tips??!!
Thanks,

Attachments

• Sm57 audio test.mp3
    1.2 MB · Views: 20
Well quit wrestling with it! :)

I am not sure I am hearing much bad from a 57 on acoustic. Sounds a bit distant but that could be placement.

Okay thanks! I might try running it through a different interface tomorrow. Placement seemed to be okay, was a bit close which is why I didn't understand why it sounded so distant.

57's are not typically used for acoustic guitar. Not unless you are looking for a bit of a dull sound. Usually condenser mics are used. I like a LDC at the bridge and a SDC for the fretboard.

But this is even vague as they all sound different.

Just trying to get around buying new equipment...probably end up heading to the store sometime soon! thanks for the help

The MXL 990/991 combo are a cheap way to get into some condensers. Some find them to work well but I will say that after using better you will see the difference.

It really comes down to what your budget is and the quality you desire.

The room that you record in will have much more importance with condenser mics.

Just trying to get around buying new equipment...probably end up heading to the store sometime soon! thanks for the help