How to use outboard insert gear multiple times in song?

mesaboogie5050

I am new to this. If I compress verse 1 with my compressor, how do I get the compression to stay there? Because I will be changing the settings of the compressor on the chorus, bridge, drums, guitar, etc.

All done with the same outboard compressor.

How do I this? Do I hit record over the same track I'm compressing? Or route to a new track?

Do I need to use the freeze mode in Logic?

You're mixing with outboard back into the DAW -and not dedicated gear-per-track.. Keep the original track - the send source, record the effected vocal as a new track (or section of the track in this case.

Yes...you have freeze/output that track or sections of the track in order to do what you want over and over.

As much as I love outboard/OTB gear....that's a pretty tedious way to do things. Just use a plug compressor. What's so special about the outboard comp that it's the only thing you want/can use...?

..As much as I love outboard/OTB gear....that's a pretty tedious way to do things. Just use a plug compressor. What's so special about the outboard comp that it's the only thing you want/can use...?
ITB here too, but the answer to that -'cause I feel it ;>)
Ya paid for it, mixing', now the stuff's just sitting there.. ;)

ITB here too, but the answer to that -'cause I feel it ;>)
Ya paid for it, mixing', now the stuff's just sitting there.. ;)

:D

Really...that's a common thing.

I have tons of outboard/OTB....and honestly, I never bother trying to insert any of it into the DAW.
When my audio is sent OTB and/or on tape, I use OTB gear....when it's in the DAW, I use ITB plugs. :)

:D

Really...that's a common thing.

I have tons of outboard/OTB....and honestly, I never bother trying to insert any of it into the DAW.
When my audio is sent OTB and/or on tape, I use OTB gear....when it's in the DAW, I use ITB plugs. :)