Very Aggressive Autotune!

A lot of us hate overuse of compression too. The "loudness wars" are every bit as obnoxious as AutoTune abuse, and a lot of people complain about it regularly too. The key word here is "abuse". No one is really complaining about using AutoTune appropriately.

Besides, compression isn't an "effect". Its proper use is to constrain levels to give a more balanced spectrum. Every record in the last 3 or 4 decades has compression on it. The difference is, you can't hear it when done well.

Agreed. I just don't know if the "loudness wars" will ever truely be settled. We are a society of "super sized" fries and LOUD music now..... It's frustrating because I am not very good at getting my songs LOUD like most "commercial" songs. I get asked so often why my music is so "quiet". grrrr

Agreed. I just don't know if the "loudness wars" will ever truely be settled. We are a society of "super sized" fries and LOUD music now..... It's frustrating because I am not very good at getting my songs LOUD like most "commercial" songs. I get asked so often why my music is so "quiet". grrrr

You should read Bob Katz. He explains how radio stations use compression to comply with FCC regulations while broadcasting the loudest signal possible. He demonstrates how, when record producers use similar techniques, it interacts with the radio station's processing in peculiar ways to make the music sound weaker, not stronger. The loudness wars people are actually creating the opposite result of what they're trying to accomplish.

You should read Bob Katz. He explains how radio stations use compression to comply with FCC regulations while broadcasting the loudest signal possible. He demonstrates how, when record producers use similar techniques, it interacts with the radio station's processing in peculiar ways to make the music sound weaker, not stronger. The loudness wars people are actually creating the opposite result of what they're trying to accomplish.