Does anyone here set songwriting goals. My report card for 2004 & goals for 2005

Jagular

I think goals are important for anyone who is serious about anything so I figured I'd start this thread. Goals. Got 'em? Wanna share them? Here's my goals from last year and how I did and goals for 2005...

My posted goals for 2004 (in quotes with comments following)

1. I will write at least 12 good songs in 2004. I am a slow writer. To do this I will need to partition off more time for myself to write. It won't be easy, but I need to work on my output.

I have written 9 or 10 this year so far (I’ll have to recount). It will be hard to make 12 with my schedule but you never know, I still might pull it off. Not all of these are actually “finished” as there is some rewriting to be done. But they are complete drafts and decently written songs IMO. My grade to myself so far is a B-. If I get to 12 I’ll give myself a B . Not an A because I hold that out for exceeding expectations.

2. I will start playing out at songwriter's nights here in Nashville in 2004. I want to get comfortable enough playing my own songs out. As part of this, I wand to do the the Bluebird quarterly audition (I think in October) for a first quarter of 2005 showcase. I will consider this goal met if I do the audition. I will consider it exceeded if I actually pass the audition.

I have been playing out fairly regularly. I shoot for once every two weeks, but sometimes I can’t keep that up. I have graduated from open mic nights to getting scheduled rounds with a few different hosts (hoping to pick up one more next Tuesday). I did, indeed audition for the Bluebird. I didn’t pass. Over all grade for the year A- as I was able to get those scheduled rounds.