Seeking advice on a setup

Drumz519

So, while I'm home from college for the summers, I pretty much have the basement to myself for recording. I have my drum set and all of my other instruments and recording gear down there. I have a setup right now that works but apparently is quite prone to frequency nodes. I was informed by another forum member that it seems as if I am in a null spot. Keep in mind, I'm completely new to this concept.

I can't really do anything as far as permanent sound treatment goes but I'm hoping to get some advice on the best way to setup my mixing setup as well as do a bit of sound treatment to at least diminish the effect of these frequency nodes.

I've attached several pictures of my basment space.

Any suggestions that will help me improve things are appreciated. I'm willing to do research, take steps, test things. As most people, I don't have much of a budget, so any improvised methods are greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Attachments

• n46603692_30533160_113.jpg
    n46603692_30533160_113.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 114
  • n46603692_30559087_3104.jpg
    n46603692_30559087_3104.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 108
Last edited:
I'd like to assist or even just look at your snaps but there's a log in requirement to do so. You won't get many responses other than from facebook subscribers.

That's a nice space. I would probably take the drums from inside that area with the pillars and put them more central facing down the length of the room, and make a 'control area' at the other end. Though those pillars may be handy for sectioning off areas and creating makeshift booth that can be taken down relatively quickly. You should make yourself some bass traps and gobo's they are fairly easy to make and pretty cheap. They will definitely help you control the reflections of the room.

Can you make a floor diagram?

Also how high are the ceilings?

Measure from the floor to the center of the woofer on your monitors as well.