isolated drum practice room

Rimshot

Howdy, I'm a brand new newbie to this site and I did a search for an answer to my question but couldn't find it.I need some advice.
I own a groundfloor co-op built on a concrete slab and I never practice before 11:00am or after 6:00pm but I have an upstairs neighbor that works nights and complains about my playing. I'm in the midst of building an 8' x 8' x 7' high room within my studio (a bit cramped for my kit, but do-able. I'm using front and back plasterboard fixed to staggered studs that don't touch the other wall and I'm using tight packed pink insulation and I'll be using acoustic foam on the interior walls. A solid oak door and the ceiling treated as the walls.The ceiling in my co-op is 8'5' so I'll have at least 1' of space between my practice room ceiling and the co-op ceiling. Will I need to build a riser to isolate the low frequencies?
I realize that it will be virtually impossible to create a "soundproof room" but I'm looking to drastically dampen the sound so that I won't be getting the daily complaints and banging on the ceiling. I realize that I'm within my legal rights because of the time of day that I play, but the co-op board has it's own rules. Mostly I play jazz and blues, but I have a seven drum set with about 8-10 cymbals.
Can I skip the riser? Or will enough bass sound escape to create a problem upstairs. I know it's no problem building it, but my concern is for height space.
Thanx for any help.