Converting Metal Garage into Studio

Sammy in Aus

I am looking at turning a metal garage into a recording/rehearsal studio. It is to be for personal use so I can rehearse with my band without the neighbours complaining and also to be able to record good quality demos.

My major issue is that I am starting with a garage which is made from metal (walls and pitched roof) on concrete slab and I need to minimise noise getting to my neighbours but I am on a tight budget. My band can be loud (drums/bass/electric guitar and PA for Vocals)

I have been reading up on sound absorption and noise reduction but am still not sure what the best option is. My ideas are listed below:

1. (a) Line the Walls and roof with 3 -4 layers of carpet
(b) Build a room within this using isolated wood stud frame and line this with either 12mm MDF (fibre board) or Plasterboard (gypsum)
but i am not sure - which is better at reducing sound transmission MDF or Plasterboard?
(c) Fill gap between walls with some sort of insulation
(d) Roof to be built in same way as walls
(e) control room to be separated from live room using double wall construction

2. (a) Same as 1 accept line existing frame with 12mm MDF (Fibreboard) instead of using the layers of carpet. (this will be more expensive so I would prefer option 1.

I have started filling all gaps in between the wall metal sheets and the roof metal sheets with expanding foam. There is quite substantial gaps here as the roof sheeting is Corrugated (wave pattern) but the foam seems to work quite well.

So my questions are:

1. Is option 1 a valid solution or will I not get adequate reduction using carpet. ( i have read carpet is only good at higher frequency noise transmission reduction)
2. Will option 2 give me the result I need?
3. Is MDF (Fibreboard) and better to use than Plasterboard (Gypsum)?
4. Is the insulation between the 2 walls worth the cost?