Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Complete beginner wanting to record!

Thanks

Complete beginner wanting to record!

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hello, I am completely new to recording music myself so I am in need of a lot of help!

I am looking at recording my band in a live situtation with us all playing at once, then overdubbing vocals and a few extra guitar noises, sounds and the like. The band consists of drums, two guitars and bass.

Basically, what do I need to do this? Cheaply, but effectively. Ideally I would like to record onto my macbook pro into logic, or onto a separate digital device to import them into my macbook pro for tweaking.

I have a macbook pro and a m audio m track plus that I have been using to record rough ideas, but I obviously cannot use this to mic up a whole band!

Any help is appreciated, and if this is posted in the wrong place then please direct me to the correct location.

Thanks in advance,
    Space.

Thanks
    To begin with, you will need an interface with enough inputs to cover voices and instruments at one time......
    Bob G.

Thanks
    **Edit - sorry, just seen you have 2 Guitars, so the 4 channel input below wouldn't work so great for you. I would suggest the 6 Channel inputs at the bottom - using the Steinberg**

At the very least you'll need 4 individual inputs....something like the Akai EIE LE Akai EIE - Thomann UK would connect via USB to your MacBook the same way as the M Audio interface and allow you to record the Guitar, Bass, and 2 Overhead mics that can be set up in the Glyn Johns method to record the Drums. That's the very least if you wanted to record all at once.

Another option is to use your M Audio M Track Plus and record the drums first, with just 2 Overheads, and then overdub the Guitars and Bass afterwards.