Lyrics then Music or Music then lyrics?

AddisonXI

Argumentative...
Just curious as to how some of you start off down your song writing journey. I usually come up with a guitar riff/melody and then lyrics flow out from there. I find it constraining if I already have lyrics written and I have to create music to match it. I'm trying different ways so that all my songs will not end up the same. So, I might try lyrics first then music.

They come in literally all kinds of ways. For example, over the last couple of nights I've completed 6 different sets of lyrics. For some of the songs, the music is already recorded so it was a case of fit the lyric to an already existing melody. I've been writing some of them since 2002 and it was hard fitting them but I managed it. On the other hand, a couple of them I can't recall the melodies {I have them stored somewhere} but I do remember that when the ideas for the words came, each lyric, abstact as it is, fitted a particular pattern. All of the lyrics completed are shit to read but make nice sound and rhythm shapes.
On the other hand, last week I recorded the music of a few songs with my drumming friend. These songs were kind of unique to me {though becoming more frequent} in that they came to me as melodies and fragments of words. More often than not the music would come first. I've tended to regard myself as pretty crummy when it comes to plucking melodies out of nothing. But in a number of these newish ones, I actually had to find chords and basslines to support the melodies. On a roll one morning at work, I even came up with lyrics for a couple of them and they were pretty easy to write.