Questions/Help with music composition

Golgi Body

Hi, I'm new to the forums so let me first provide a little background information. I've been playing guitar for 10+ years and have been in several bands. In high school (8 years ago) I began using my computer to record music and slowly transitioned into a more electronic based songs. Well, I've grown up quite a bit and now crave more fundamental natural music. Anyway, on to my question.

When the bands I was in broke up or whatever and I began writing everything on my own it was great. The smallest achievement felt like a milestone. Back then if someone asked me how many "songs" I'd written, I would have said hundreds. But to be honest, in the four or five years I've been producing music (or whatever you want to call it) I've only written maybe 6 whole/complete songs.

I have hundreds of great melodies or ideas that I've always wanted to turn into complete songs, but I struggle and end up abandoning them. It wasn't until 8 months ago that I began recording again (women trouble, great inspiration ;)). I'm more focused now and want to write songs, not snippets. So I come to you, people of the internet for help.

I have no problem with intros and verses. Hell sometimes I can come up with a chorus I'm not ashamed of, but a lot of the times my music is so short sighted. It'll just consist of the same 3 or 4 chord progressions in different variations. In the past I'd lie to myself and say I didn't want to be rigid in my compositions, and that there wasn't a formula to writing music. I still agree with that, but the few songs I've been able to write that have verses, a chorus, a bridge, and an outro are so much more interesting. They sound like real songs and not some guys sad attempt at a hobbie.