Solitary Recording Advice Needed!

AccidentalDream

I just made a major purchase (house) and am in the market to update (from 10-20 year old keys, mics, cables, recording gear, etc.) to a cost effective way I can record great sounding CD's on a budget that will allow me to spend perhaps up to 1600.00. I don't trust the computer (although I hold a degree in educational technology!) to create music and am much happier using a stand-alone recorder/workstation. Let me know what you think of what I am about to purchase:
1. Yamaha AW16G Multitrack Recorder with CD
2. MXL 2001 and MXL 603s condenser mic package
3. Boss DR-5 Rhythm Section
4. Event Electronics TR-5 tuned reference monitors.

The above, along with my plethora of musical instruments, I hope will be all I will need to get started on the right track....digitally, that is. I am not "down with" the whole digital recording thing, but I'm a quick learner and have ample time on my hands. Do you think I am going in the right direction? I play keys, piano, guitar, flute, clarinet, and other multicultural gizmos, and love to sing harmonies. I DON'T want to make a costly mistake! This system has been priced at about 1500.00 to me sans cables and I'm ready to make purchase. Stop me, support my decision, or make other suggestions to help lead me on my way to creative paradise. Merci!