Partitions...new word to me !?!?!?

TASCAM MAN

Im new to anything to do with hard disk recording and the Tascam DP-02 is my very first multitrack digital recorder. The part that seems so complicated(havent attempted yet) is exporting files via partitions and FAT and all this is so "greek" to me.I read in the manuel several times about it but....could some of my friends here explain partitions as general as possible to me? and if you have/had a Tascam DP-02(hard drive version) how partitons and FAT partitions are done and how to export WAV files safely without wiping out for good all of my work.......thanks:)

Partitions are basically just a way of turning one physical drive into split "virtual" drives, has no effect on exporting anything.

There are exceptions, but generally partitioning a drive will format it. Ie. You'll lose all data.

FAT is a file system.

Windows based computers natively recognise FAT, FAT32 and NTFS. I believe NTFS is still the current recommended file system.

OSX natively recognises FAT, and possibly FAT32.

Ordinarily, changing the file system requires a repartition which, again, means you lose all data.

What OS are you using, and what error message are you getting?
It sounds like maybe your computer doesn't like the current file system and is telling you to change it?

There are exceptions, but generally partitioning a drive will format it. Ie. You'll lose all data.

FAT is a file system.

Windows based computers natively recognise FAT, FAT32 and NTFS. I believe NTFS is still the current recommended file system.

OSX natively recognises FAT, and possibly FAT32.

Ordinarily, changing the file system requires a repartition which, again, means you lose all data.

What OS are you using, and what error message are you getting?
It sounds like maybe your computer doesn't like the current file system and is telling you to change it?