How do I adjust two mics on Acoustic Guitar

joe1871

Hi,

I have two mics, an AKG 414 and a Neumann KM 183 that I run through two different channel strips, then into my DAW. What logic do you recommend for how to set EQ and compression, etc on these strips for each mic, and what pattern would you select on the mics?

I am brand new to recording. If there is any other advice you could provide I would really appreciate it. PlugIns, techniques etc. I am recording acoustic solo fingerstyle guitar principally.

TIA

Joe

Tell us about your guitar and the room you're recording in. And are you a proficient player and have you ever been recorded before?

Hi,

I have two mics, an AKG 414 and a Neumann KM 183 that I run through two different channel strips, then into my DAW. What logic do you recommend for how to set EQ and compression, etc on these strips for each mic, and what pattern would you select on the mics?

I am brand new to recording. If there is any other advice you could provide I would really appreciate it. PlugIns, techniques etc. I am recording acoustic solo fingerstyle guitar principally.

TIA

Joe
Being new to it I'd say google some on acoustic guitar mic placements and such, and try the two in XY (yes I know they're not matched', it won't mater that much initially).
Skip all the eq/compressing at first and start with getting basic clean tones and a feel for the sounds with varying positions and distance.
Expand from there.

One aimed almost directly at the sound hole and one at about the 12th fret, aimed slightly in toward the soundhole.

Hi,

As armistice says, it all depends on the guitar, the room, and the player.

To add my two pence;