Electric Bass >> Upright Sound?

Elvisish

Does anyone have any experience with making an electric bass sound more like an upright with EQ? Playing it like an upright is easy, but taking the growl out could be a drop harder!

No electric bass is going to fool the discerning listener, and as a bassist, I just PLAY an upright bass if I want that sound. But:

Mute the strings. Put a little strip of foam on the strings at or near the bridge.

Play with your right hand close to the neck. Play with your left hand in first position as much as possible.

Use suitable strings, like Thomastik-Infeld Jazz rounds or flats.

I don't know any EQ tricks. Perhaps gentle rolloffs below, say 100 hz and above like 500 hz?

This reminds me of an interview that I read a long time ago. (I think the article was in Bass Player, but it was many years ago, so I can't remember for sure. In fact, I don't even remember who the artist was that was being interviewed. But, the comment stuck with me, 'cause it struck me as funny.)

Question: "How do you get your bass to sound so much like an upright?"
Answer: "Turn down the tone knob."

:D :D :D :D :D

Honestly, though, the guy was probably playing a Precision with flat-wound strings that hadn't been changed in YEARS. And he probably also had a playing style was very much like that of an upright player. That would be my guess, anyway.

Brad

Bassman Brad said:
Question: "How do you get your bass to sound so much like an upright?"
Answer: "Turn down the tone knob."
That's funny! I agree though, with the fretless bass idea.... I have an ESP 5 string that I can get to sound somewhat like an upright by turning down the tone knobs and cranking the highs on my amp. But you can instantly tell it's not an upright if you listen close.

Why not just rent an upright if that's the sound you want?