THIS bass sound

Will25

At around 48 seconds it comes in. How would I get this sound? I've got a P bass...DI or mic'ed? What sort of plug ins should I use? I'm a newb but any help would be cool, thanks :)

I'd lean d/i, low pass as needed, and a fairly fast attack comp to round the leading edge off- Again as needed to dial in your shape and release.
P bass should be able to go there nicely I'd think.

A lot of that tone is also how the bass is played. It sounds like fingers pretty far away from the bridge.

--Ethan

A lot of that tone is also how the bass is played. It sounds like fingers pretty far away from the bridge.

--Ethan
That is so key!
What is nice- the tone there is round', but it still has the tones ('throat) in there to not disappear.
Not too clear' / round' > Often that means from the source- picked not too light or too far from the bridge..

I say that from one of my fave hates. Mixing where a bass just basically sorta fades away- but for 'the big speakers.

Last edited:
I don't know if anyone else gets this but the bass sounds synthed to me. Way too perfectly timed and tuned and lacking some of the artifacts that go with a manually played instrument. There are other things that lead me to think that but those are at the top. Given the ease with which such things are accomplished nowadays, it would not be unreasonable to propose it. But in answer to the question on how to emulate it with a P-Bass, compression and EQ would be your best bets

DI, compression (just to get it tight & even), fingers or flat wound strings, a really good neck on the bass to play those higher notes wel, consistent level & plucking, rehearsal & some careful EQing (but that'll depend on what you bass sounds like.
Playing evenly - in the right spot, the right amount of pressure & not rushed because you aren't well enough rehearsed as extremely important to a good bass sound that they are frequently passed over as they require time & effort.