Thinking of buying a Firebox, but I'm stupid

lasagne

I fancy Fancy
I'm very new to recording. I currently use a standalone Zoom MRS 1266 to record acoustic guitar and vox through an SP B1.

I'm looking at buying a Firebox because I think (although I can't be sure) that I'll get a clearer recording - my recordings are OK but I'm at the stage where I want a better sound, and I also want to spend a little money - I'm just edging towardrs the bottomless pit.

I reckon from what I've read here that the pre's on the Firebox are going to better quality than on the Zoom, hence my reasoning thatI'll get a clearer recording.

So here's the stupid part - does the Firebox take the place of my existing sound card ? In other words, do I hook up my monitors into the Firebox so that all pc sounds are routed through the Firebox - my pc won't be dedicated to recording, but will still be used for surfing etc when I'll need sound.

Just to confuse myself even more, if I use MIDI (which I probably will), do the sounds come from the Firebox ? In other words, does the Firebox contain soundfonts or GM sounds or something ?

OK - I'm ready for any abuse, and hopefully some advice.

lasagne said:
does the Firebox take the place of my existing sound card ?
Yes.

do the sounds come from the Firebox ? In other words, does the Firebox contain soundfonts or GM sounds or something ?
No. The Firebox has no sounds inside --- it's simply a vastly better way to get audio into and out of your computer. And as such, when you're on the web all the sounds you need to hear will be routed thru it just as if it were a stock PC soundcard.